the 5th limb of yoga, pratyahara

The fifth limb of yoga is pratyahara, or tuning out sensory input and tuning into ourselves. Limbs five, six, seven and eight are yoga practices on inner development. Our senses are being bombarded all. day. long. It’s exhausting to see the non-stop emails/texts/calls coming in, to have people requesting your attention, and the endless toContinue reading “the 5th limb of yoga, pratyahara”

Asana is the gateway limb to yoga

Most of us think of yoga as ‘yoga asana’ – the physical aspect of yoga. So far in this blog we’ve covered the first two limbs of yoga, the yamas and niyamas. The third limb of yoga is asana. Yoga asana is the physical postures, movements and sequences that help purify and unionize the body/mind/spirit.Continue reading “Asana is the gateway limb to yoga”

Niyamas: Observances of Yoga | Chapter 5: Isvara-Pranidhana

Isvara-pranidhana is the practice of humility. Faith. Surrender. Dedication. Before I was a yogi, I was an engineer. I was trained to ‘use your brain’, question everything and always find an answer. On top of that, I had little faith in anything – not God, not people around me, not really even myself or theContinue reading “Niyamas: Observances of Yoga | Chapter 5: Isvara-Pranidhana”

Niyamas: Observances of Yoga | Chapter 4: Svadhyaya

Svadhyaya is the practice of self-study. Do you take time each day to reflect on your thoughts, words and actions? Why is svadhyaya important? Self-reflection, self-awareness, self-knowledge, self-self-self. It almost seems… selfish. Yet we’ve all been on an airplane and heard “secure your air mask before assisting others.” In order to show up for theContinue reading “Niyamas: Observances of Yoga | Chapter 4: Svadhyaya”

Niyamas: Observances of Yoga | Chapter 3: Tapas

Tapas is the practice of igniting your inner fire. (No, this is not a blog on Spanish mini-meals). Tapas is a dedication to your highest self and towards developing healthy habits that are supportive, loving, and fueling. Through a consistent practice your unhealthy habits will naturally fall away. Tapas is the practice of causing positiveContinue reading “Niyamas: Observances of Yoga | Chapter 3: Tapas”

Niyamas: Observances of Yoga | Chapter 2: Santosha

Santosha means contentment. Before you read this blog, take a moment and list 10 things (yes, 10) that you are grateful for. Santosha means contentment for who we are and where we are at in life. Santosha does not mean laziness or complacency, in fact, those are near enemies of a santosha lifestyle. Everything isContinue reading “Niyamas: Observances of Yoga | Chapter 2: Santosha”